SHIELDS header banner /w logo

42 Questions


Question 22

The LDS claim that Peter, James, and John were the original First Presidency of the Church, but they were numbered among the Twelve.  Why are there now 12 apostles plus 3 in the First Presidency?  Also, about 10 years ago President McKay expanded the First Presidency until it had a total of six members (without benefit of a change in the Scriptures), with the statement that the need was because of the increased workloads and growth of the church.  Yet, Joseph Fielding Smith returned the number to the original three, where it remains to this day, even though the numbers in the church today far exceed those of 10 years ago.  What is the explanation?